Things We Will Never Understand

*Since I’m so nice, I’ll warn you now…this post is longer than I meant for it to be. There’s a reason why I don’t like to get serious too often.*

This world is a messed up place. (As if you didn’t already know that.) There are too many people who think that lives are dispensable. People who are willing to kill over the most insignificant things, just for the thrill of it, or just to be “famous.” I don’t know what has to go on in a person’s head to make them think it’s okay to kill someone. I was heartbroken when I heard of the recent massacre in a Connecticut elementary school. How can a man ever justify killing innocent children? No child should have to know that horror, and no parent should have to know that kind of loss. I can’t imagine the pain they are feeling, to know they will never again be able to hold their child, play with them, or see them smile. It makes me sick every time I think of what happened. Sadly, gun laws are not the issue, people are. As long as guns exist, people will find a way to get them, legally or otherwise. What I don’t understand is why it’s so easy to legally acquire a weapon that can fire off a hundred rounds in 30 seconds. Why would ANYONE need a weapon like that for protection? If someone is buying that, they clearly have bad intentions. Can someone tell me why we need so much paperwork to get a license/passport, yet it’s fairly simple to buy a gun? Does that not seem wrong to you?

The majority of criminals/murderers have had difficult pasts; their parents didn’t love them, their schoolmates bullied them. While that doesn’t excuse using violence, we need to realize that our actions can greatly affect others. There are so many people who don’t deserve to be parents. People who don’t realize that ignoring or abusing a child is going to have a huge effect on how they turn out. What were they thinking when they were calling their child ugly or fat and telling them they’d never amount to anything? How can anyone say that to a child? How can anyone talk that way to their own flesh and blood? There are people who teach their kids to discriminate against others who are different. How can you teach your kids to hate others just because you do? And all those people and schools turning a blind eye to bullying, shame on you. How do you think those victims feel? Why do you think so many children turn to suicide? Because no one will listen and sadly, they think suicide is their only way out. It’s sickening how cruel people can be, and so terribly sad what people are capable of doing out of anger.

I will never understand the allure of including any kind of violence in fiction. We have more than enough violence in the real world. So what is the point of having more violence in books, TV shows, movies and video games? How is violence entertaining? Our kids shouldn’t be shooting people in video games and thinking that it’s “cool.” There’s so much violence everywhere that it’s like we’ve been desensitized. Then there are reality shows like Snapped, Fatal Honeymoons, Too Young To Kill, etc, all of which serve to remind us yet again what people are capable of. Do we really need to give those murderers MORE air time? Do we really want to inspire potential copycats? ENOUGH ALREADY. We need to stop acting like violence is okay and just another part of life. It doesn’t have to be. We don’t need to be so filled with hatred. We don’t need to teach our children that this is okay. I truly believe it all starts at home and that we all need to do our part. We need to learn how to solve our problems without violence. Unfortunately, our country isn’t setting the best example. What are we teaching our citizens when countries declare war on each other as a way to solve their problems, or as a way to force others to do things their way? I know this world isn’t going to magically become a wonderful place. But if we take a look at ourselves and the way we’re living our lives and treating others, we can make a huge difference one day. We just have to want this change.

I want to live in a world where we don’t hear about innocent people being shot to death in a school or a theater. Where we don’t have to hear about a teenager shooting his whole family because they were mean to him, or shooting himself because he’s tired of being bullied. I want to live in a world where I can someday raise a child and not fear for their safety and happiness every day. A world where we can all be happy with what we have, and enjoy our family and friends, because life is short. A world where people may not always see eye to eye, but they agree to disagree rather than to fight each other. I want to live in a world where the only death I have to worry about is a natural one, when God says it’s time for me to go. The way it’s supposed to be. Mostly, I just want to live.

~Lily~

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.” ― Mae West

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” ― Albert Einstein

23 thoughts on “Things We Will Never Understand

Add yours

  1. I concur. It is shameful and sad. Even if you want to argue over the second amendment simi automatic weapons are not needed even if you have bad aim at the pheasant you are killing for your meal.

    1. Very true, I don’t think anyone needs them. I HATE that they exist. But sometimes “good” people want them to protect themselves from “bad” people. But still, no one should need such a deadly weapon EVER! 😦

  2. So true and so poignant yes it does start at home but trust me not easy to do the right thing all the time. Being a parent is so hard and even though we always want the best for our child at times we lose it. Then u have to walk around with the guilt of hurting ur child physically & worst yet emotionally. I know personally that I’ve always wanted to do what was right and at times failed horribly. So yes enough with the violence in movies, games, and so forth lets all try to set a better example for ourselves and for the people we love right at home and maybe this way the world can one day be a better place.

    1. I know it’s not easy to be a parent. But I was talking more specifically about parents who ignore their children, who leave them with nannies, or who abuse their children and make fun of them. Those kind of people are awful! You guys raised us well. 🙂 But yeah, I wish the violence would just end. With little steps, I’m sure we could all make a difference.

  3. Big *hugs* to you Lily 😉

    I love this comment and it is SO TRUE “Do we really need to give those murderers MORE air time?” this is major problem because we’re giving people a reason to find their own fame no matter how hideous…

    Any automatic weapon should be classified as “deadly” no one needs them for any good reason.

    1. Thanks Dianne. That’s why I hate the news too. I mean, I know we need to know about these things, but that’s also what these sick murderers want…they want to be KNOWN and famous. So sick.

      Agreed, those weapons should not exist, or at the very least, should not be accessible to any of us! No good can come from that. 😦

      1. I hate guns – but we have them on the farm and I can use one. They are ONLY used in case there is a razorback pig or taipan in the yard (because they’re so dangerous). The laws here are very strict and an example of this is when my father-in-law had a stroke earlier this year and his gun license and guns were taken away. He’s now on the road to recovery and has put in a request to get them back.

  4. I hear you, Lily. This whole thing has just only made me more confused as to why and how our society can go on like this. It was such an awful thing to come back home to and it’s been hard still to try and process what has happened…

  5. Oh! How much I loved this post, Lily. Very recently, an act of utter disgust and horrendous cruelty has shook our nation again.
    A high school girl traveling in public bus at night with her boy-friend was gang-raped by five men after they killed the boy-friend and threw the girl from the bus in a road-side creek where she lay unattended for hours. The girl was comatose for 5 days after which she succumbed to the grave internal injuries her body had sustained. The family dies every second now.

    Makes me want to ask where is God when things like that happen? How can he just sit and watch?
    I respect and admire when voices are raised against such violent acts but the sad part is not much are willing to co-operate to change.

    -Asha

    1. Oh, that’s just awful. Where is our compassion? Humans are supposed to be compassionate but that’s gone now, otherwise we wouldn’t be capable of such vile, cruel things.
      God can’t fix everything. It’s not him, it’s us. And if we keep this up, I wouldn’t be surprised if the world does end some day. It’s just so sad.
      Glad you enjoyed the post though.

  6. Lily, I read this via email the day you posted it, and intended to come back & comment when I got done with work that day. Sorry it took me so long to get back. I had computer issues all last week, and have been working my way backwards in time with catch-up blog reading.

    But what I wanted to say then still stands: Yours was the best blog I have read on this subject.

    🙂 Rani

    1. There – I did it. I had intended to reblog this on the day you posted it, Lily. But computer woes got in my way. I hope some of my few peeps come over. Miss you! 🙂 Rani

Tell Me What You Think...

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑