Just To Summarize…

This has been an interesting week, to say the least. Two major things happened, two things which are so contrary to one another.

On Tuesday morning, I looked outside the window to see that it was currently snowing, and slowly accumulating. I’m the kind of person who doesn’t even want to go to work when it’s raining, let alone snowing. I thought, maybe they’ll close the office or something, or at least send an e-mail for us to drive safe and use our best judgement. That didn’t happen, so against my better judgement, I went to work. And then this happened…

…………

………

……

.

CAM00017

CAM00018

I got into an accident, in case you couldn’t figure that out. And it’s not that I was driving carelessly. I swear I’m a good driver. I was coming up to a light and started braking, and the car just wouldn’t stop. I was scared so I pressed on the brakes harder, which I now realize is the opposite of what you should do when there’s snow/ice on the road. So BAM. My first fender bender. (And hopefully the last.) The other car was perfectly fine, no visible damage. It was a large mini-van with an enormous bumper. I was so pissed, because I should’ve just listened to my lazy gut and stayed home.

Then yesterday, (Wednesday) this happened…

It's about time!
It’s about time!

I got engaged! Finally! We’ve only been in a relationship for nearly a decade, counting the years we were in a long-distance relationship. We were having dinner with my parents and my brother at Friday’s. (Fancy, I know…) We were talking and all of a sudden, he goes, “Well…anyway…before I leave for Puerto Rico…will you marry me?” And I said, “Really?! Here?” And then I said, “Yes, of course!” I was laughing the whole time, because it was so random, very few words, no getting down on one-knee. But I always knew he wasn’t the most creative or romantic type of guy. It almost felt like it wasn’t happening, because it was so random. But hey, we love each other and that’s all that matters. About an hour after he proposed, it hit me. “Crap, now I need to PLAN this thing?” Yeah, guess I’m not so romantic myself.

Accident one day, proposal the next day. Who knew?!

~Lily~

18 thoughts on “Just To Summarize…

  1. I am smiling. Picked a great day to check my emails and read your post. Yay got the engagement. Boo to the fender bender but back to the excitement :).

    So happy for you!!!! Congrats to you both. I get an invite right? Lol just kidding. I am going to smiling the rest of the day…so glad I read this

    1. Aw, I’m glad you picked today too! Yes, I think it’s safe to say the engagement definitely made me feel better about the whole fender bender situation, lol. Thanks so much! You’re all invited, meet you in Puerto Rico. 😀 😀

  2. Congratulations Lilly!!!!!!!! I’m SO HAPPY for you :). It’s so wonderful! I’m sorry to hear about your car :(. My dad had an accident in 2011 where our car was a write-off. But he’s okay, which is the best thing. Either way I’m glad that you’re having a happy end to the week :). Keep us updated with wedding dates ;).

    1. Thank you! I’ll get over the car thing. Could’ve been worse than a fender bender. Jeez, I’m glad your dad was okay, that must’ve been a bad one!
      But yes, the week turned out much better than it started, lol. But I really can’t begin to think of planning, so stressful. I’ll just enjoy this part!

  3. I had a funny feeling when reading the beginning of this post that a proposal was in the works. Guess who was right?? Lol but in all seriousness, congratulations!! You’re the second person today who I’ve found out has gotten engaged. What a great season for it, even if it’s freezing cold (and snowing on your end, yikes). Car accidents suck like no other but hey, at least your week didn’t stay sucky for long! Definitely keep us updated on the planning. I’m so excited now! 😀

    1. You sure were right…thank you! What are the odds that you know of two people who got engaged same day. I guess it’s going around, lol. No worries, come next year I’ll have blogging material cuz I’ll need advice on planning…I can’t even begin to grasp how much goes into this stuff. Umm, City Hall sounds much easier. 😀

  4. FELICIDADES LILY!!!!!!!!! What exciting news! What a gorgeous ring too. I am very happy for you – can you tell??? 🙂 Scary about the fender bender but sorry, I can’t get the engagement off my mind. Feliz Navidad!

  5. Oh my god, congratulations!!! I mean, not about the accident, obviously. And really, it could have been a LOT worse, so while annoying, really . . . you’re having a pretty good week! Beautiful ring, by the way. He done did good! So, yeah, better get to planning.

    I’m so happy for you! 🙂

    1. Thank you! I had a feeling you weren’t congratulating my fender bender. 😉 The week did turn out pretty great. My BF does have great taste but…I did pick the ring out. And he seconded it, lol. 😀 Thanks again!

  6. I live in AZ and sometimes I feel like they should write us to not come in due to heat… but that never happens. I always assumed snow meant no work and no school, your car accident is very good reason to argue against work in the snowy future. :p I am so sorry that really sucks BUT it’s great that their car isn’t messed up, so hopefully your insurance won’t go up (did you guys call the cops?)

    Congratulations on your engagement! I think there are very few people that get the crazy WILL YOU MARRY ME at Disneyland stuff. Mike and I were hiking and I told him he was supposed to go down on one knee, so he did on a jaggedy rock and I was like uh this isn’t that romantic I am just worried about your knee now. Your story is completely unique to you, it’s the little things that make it special not the things that everyone else gets too. I am so happy for you both! Planning is mad stressful, I would say keep in mind this day is your family’s day too so if you don’t really care about one thing or the other give the control to your Mom so that she has something so she doesn’t try to take over everything (even if you don’t think she would do that… you might be surprised).

    Do you love your ring? It is super pretty!!! I have scratched myself with mine a few times so be careful.

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I know we can’t all have a wonderful engagement story. Still would’ve been nice if he could’ve added something to it…lol. But at least it was funny, if not romantic! Ouch for going down on one knee on a jagged rock! Yeah, not looking forward to planning…yet. I know I need to start soon, but I don’t want to get crazy with it. And yes, I love my ring. I hope I never get tired of it. 😉

Tell Me What You Think...

