Shopping, Working, And Other Things

Hello lovelies…I hope everyone had a nice Father’s Day weekend. We never do anything fancy, just a family dinner, but that’s good enough for us. We’re a simple people. On Saturday, mom and I went shopping. It works to my benefit that my boyfriend usually works on Saturdays. I had two coupons from DSW, one for $5 off (those cheapskates) and one for $20 off. I usually go to DSW, walk around, and leave empty-handed and disappointed. Not this time! I walked out of there with 5 pairs of shoes. AND…there were several other pairs that I really wanted too, but I contained myself. (I easily could have purchased at least 8 shoes.)  I’ve never been the girl with tons and tons of shoes. My shoe selection was always pretty sparse. So I think I deserved to buy 5 new pairs. Although, about a month ago, I did buy 4 pairs of shoes…but not all at the same time, so that doesn’t count. And one pair is for a wedding. You can’t judge me! Some women buy shoes every week, even though they can’t afford it. I can afford it, but I’m not that crazy.

This was me at DSW.
This was me at DSW.

Later that day, we decided to go to Kohl’s to return a few things, from several different orders. Yes, that may sound like I do a lot of shopping, but one of the orders was from March, and the other two were back to back because I earned Kohl’s cash, and I HAD to use it. I didn’t plan on returning anything (because then you lose the Kohl’s cash), but why keep something that I don’t absolutely love? Plus, two of the things were shoes, and I figured if I bought 5 new pairs of shoes that day, I should probably return the 2 pairs I bought at Kohl’s that really weren’t very cute. So we leave the house, we get to Kohl’s and for the first time, we get a really good spot. (Kohl’s is always so packed.) Then two things happened. First, my mom asked me if my things were in the trunk. At this point, I had a laughing fit, because that’s when I realized I left the bag of returns at home. I don’t know how I missed it, since it was a large bag with two boxes of shoes, among other things. Apparently, I was so distracted debating what shoes to put on, that I forgot to bring the bag with me. Genius. The next thing that happened was that my mom’s shoe broke. The top part came apart, making it impossible to walk in. It was like a flip-flop without the flip, so it was just a flop. We were both laughing hysterically. So even if I hadn’t forgotten my bag of returns, we had to go back home anyway to grab another pair of shoes for my mom. Good times.

On an unrelated note, I am no longer a freelancer at my current/old job. They rehired me, so now I get to make less money than I was making a few weeks ago. Yay me! (Freelancing salary is higher since there are no benefits or taxes taken out. Le sigh.) But yes, I am very grateful that they hired me again. This was such a lucky break for me. In other more irritating news, the office is moving. I currently have a 5 minute commute to work, opposite side of traffic, so it’s AWESOME. We have a garage, so I don’t have to worry about my car getting too hot in the sun, or having to clean snow off my car in the winter. We have a nice cafeteria with plenty of choices. WELL NOT ANYMORE! Our new office is further away, there is NO garage, and they have a tiny, practically non-existent cafeteria. And as if it wasn’t already annoying enough, they’re taking our current cubicles to the new building, so my team had to relocate to another area of the office. As of last Friday, four of us are crammed into one room, with no privacy, all talking over each other on the phone until the end of next week. So we’re lucky enough to be inconvenienced with two moves! I know, you’re so jealous right now. It’s really hard to work in my temporary location. The desks here are MUCH smaller, and I feel all out of whack and unorganized. Not a good feeling for a meeting planner. Oh well, such is life. I’ve been meaning to get a post out for days now, but it’s been so hectic. I can’t believe I used to have time to blog at work. I mean, shhh, don’t tell anyone that. (On a serious note, I take my job seriously, and I am not a slacker.) Have a great rest of the week!

~Lily~

14 thoughts on “Shopping, Working, And Other Things

  1. Ohhh I think you should take pictures of your shoes and share them with us lol. I’ve never been much of a shoe shopper to be honest. I just cringe when my mom asks me to go shopping for clothes because I have no patience for it. However a friend of mine has slowly been convincing me to shop for more shoes. Well I did buy a pair for my graduation. That’s too bad about your office moving away from the current location Lily! How long will your commute be now?

    My Father’s Day weekend was pretty quiet too. Well it was my dad’s 60th Birthday on Monday so we were kind of prepping for that during the weekend. He enjoyed his birthday so that was good :). How is your brother doing by the way? Ohhh and much belated wishes for your Birthday! I’m sorry I didn’t get a chance to wish you before, but with Convocation and stuff my mind was just a blur. I hope you had a great birthday though!!

    1. Haha, that would be fun! Some of the shoes are simple, practical, for everyday use. One pair is SOOO pretty, and the heel is higher than what I’m used to, but I couldn’t just NOT buy it! Lol. Today I’m wearing a pair of heels that are also too high for me, but I love them, and I know it’s the type of shoe that a shoe-lover would totally wear. 🙂 Oh, I’m with you, I used to hate shopping. I still do sometimes. But when I get to a store and find things I like within a few minutes, then I get really happy, and I’m on a roll…like at dsw, with my 5 pairs lol.

      My commute will be about 15 minutes, probably more, I have no idea how traffic will be. It’s not super crazy but coming from a 5 minute commute, it stinks. Aw, happy birthday to your dad! And thanks for the birthday wishes as well. Don’t apologize, I know you had lots going on! I hope things are slowing down now for you. 😀

      My brother’s good, he should be graduating soon, so yay! If all goes well, we’re all planning to go to OK for the graduation. 😀

      1. Ahahah your paragraph on shoes reminded me of Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series despite the fact that I haven’t read any of the books from the series lol.

        I hope your brother’s Graduation goes well :). He must be pretty excited about it! Take loads of pictures!

  2. Best hope the boss isn’t reading the blog 🙂 Terribly when you had things so perfect and now they go and move everything but, in fairness, with today’s economic environment, you’re lucky to have the work, although annoying that “permanent” means less pay. Oh my, how will you afford your 5 pairs of shoes next month 🙂

    1. Haha, I know… I doubt they’d read my blog, but I guess you never know. I didn’t say anything too terrible, I think! You’re right, I’m definitely grateful to have this job, cuz I know there are so many people who’ve been searching for so long and have had no luck. 😦

      I’m glad I can afford to go shopping as often as I have lately, without breaking the bank. I would never do that if I wasn’t able to. But I will probably take a break for now. I usually shop in waves. One month I’ll just be in the mood for new stuff, then for months I won’t go to any store, other than the grocery store of course. 😀

    1. I know, shopping is pretty nice! I used to hate it because I would never find anything I was really looking for, but lately I’ve been having luck! Obviously, or I wouldn’t have purchased 5 pairs of shoes in a day lol. 😀

    1. Thanks! I was never much of a shoe girl either but I might become one now…that was fun. Couldn’t let $25 go to waste, but I probably should’ve just bought one pair, lol… That’s how these people get ya!

  3. When I was working in the city it was only a five minute walk to work and even though I hated my job, I loved the convenience of it. Yucky for you that the office is moving 😦

    I’m not really a shoe gal, but I’ve recently bought two new pairs (yeah – splashing out!) 😀

Tell Me What You Think...

