For Lack Of A Better Title…

I have some news that you may or may not care about. After a glorious 8 months of doing absolutely nothing, I am finally going back to work. (I was laid off due to lack of work, not because I’m a lazy fart.) I was actually contacted by my previous employer. Part of me feels weird going back after having been laid off, but the other part of me is happy that I get to skip the whole interview process. I can’t stand interviews. It’s also only a five-minute commute, which I always loved. There is a downside though. (Isn’t there always?) They are offering me a temporary to permanent position, depending on how business goes. The uncertainty is troubling,  but at least I’ll be better prepared than last time. (And the pay is actually better, so who cares?)

There is another negative though. My ass won’t seem to fit into any of my old work slacks. Not so much my ass, but rather the place where my flat abs should be and my love handles shouldn’t be. UGH. No, I don’t want to be one of those girls who obsesses about weight. Anyway, what I really can’t stand is having to buy new pants as a result of this weight thing. Did you know that people suck at making pants? With this one brand I was trying on, a size 3, 5, and 7 all fit exactly the same. REALLY? And when comparing a size 3 to a size 9, there was barely a half-inch difference in the waist band. Again, REALLY? Since I’m talking about clothes, I’d also like to vent about the fact that designers need to realize that women are not always proportional or perfect. Just because a woman has a thicker waist does not mean that she has thicker legs. Sometimes a woman’s legs are a size 3 but her waist is a size 5 or 7. OKAY? Thanks.

Alright, so if you learned anything today, it’s that my pants don’t fit, and I’m going back to work…naked. Just kidding. I did manage to find a few slacks. Anyway, I’m going to try to enjoy my last few days of freedom. Although I’ve had more than enough time off, I still can’t believe it’s over. This is gonna take some getting used to. You really do get used to being unemployed. I actually have to set my alarm and go to work on Monday. WHAT?! F&*#!!!

Have a great weekend!

~Lily~

38 thoughts on “For Lack Of A Better Title…

  1. first off.. WOOHOO CONGRATS.. and I had to LOL reading about the pants.. I have a size 6 that fit perfectly.. and a size 11 that are tight as hell.. and of course I have no ass so all of them slide right down my backside everytime I bend over.. I’m constantly pulling up my jeans.. even the skin tight ones!! they truly do suck at making jeans..
    Go to a thrift store for new pants.. girl.. during my weight loss that’s where I got all my clothes.. You can find brand new stuff that still has the tags on them and pay like $2 for it!!!

    1. Thanks! Haha, yeah, pants shopping is always fun…not! It’s insane how different sizes are among brands. Can’t they all agree and make their sizes match? I think it’s even more sad when one brand makes 3 different sizes exactly the same, duh! The slacks I got were $17, which were pretty affordable. I feel like it’s harder finding sizes in thrift stores, but $2 is awesome! 😉

  2. Yay for Employment!!! Are you glad to be getting back to a routine? I know one of the things I struggle with after finishing university is that I literally have no routine anymore. I hope you’ll keep us posted about work and stuff :).

    1. Thanks. 😉 Well, you really do get used to being unemployed. All of a sudden, it feels weird even considering going back to work, but this day had to come eventually. Routines are okay… I really don’t like working 8:30-5 because you get home and there’s really not much time to do anything. UGH, hate being a grown up, lol. 😉

  3. Congratulations on going back to work, but more importantly on finding pants that fit! 😉 I hate shopping for pants, Designers completely ignore short women with muscular legs! LOL

  4. Yeah for going back to work and high-five on being able to skip those pesky interviews.. as for the pants, I’m sure you will be fitting them like a #1 stunner 😉

  5. THANK YOU SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTANDS THE WHOLE TROUSERS (PANTS) THING. Not everyone has a set of straight pin legs, there’s something, dear designers, called SHAPE & CURVES. Although it probably is a pain that you’re going back to work and the whole “I hate Mondays” life again it beats sitting at home all day contemplating whether your life is a massive failure or if buying an ice cream at 4 in the morning is a good idea (it’s never a bad one). I wish you the best of luck, and awesome you get better pay WOO!

    1. The pants issue is so not cool! I hope designers realize this soon. I wish I could make my own jeans and stuff. 😉
      Ugh, it’s such a pain to have to hate Mondays again. But it is kinda boring being home every day so I guess it’s not SO bad to be going back. Haha, I’ve been craving ice cream and now you’re making me want it again, ahhh! 😉 Thanks for the luck!

  6. Yippee!! Congrats on getting back in the workforce! It’s definitely going to take some getting used to. (I know, way to be positive, right? But hey, I tell it like it is.) On the plus side, you’ll have a steady source of income. On the minus side, you have to wake up early and a routine can get monotonous after a while. But at least you’ll have lots more things to rant about, right? 🙂 Trying to find pants that fit just right is a little like searching for a needle in a haystack. There are pants everywhere but the right ones just never seem to be there.

    1. Thanks! Yeah, trust me, I know it’s gonna be tough getting used to working again…the whole day is WASTED lol. But yeah, more money is good, cuz Jersey’s expensive, so there’s that. We’ll see how it goes. I need MORE pants, I guess I just have to have patience. It seriously pisses me off to shop sometimes. 😉

  7. I’ll stay out of the pants conversation– usually it’s a getting in the pants conversation– or perhaps I should not be funny at 2 a.m. Anyhow, congratulations on returning to work! My job requires going back to work after a ten-week break each year. It’s never easy 😉

    1. Haha, why are you on here so early anyway? Thanks. That’s right, you get a break every year. That’s gotta be tough. I’m sure most of the time you don’t want to go back. 😉 But once you’re back, you get used to it again, and I know that’ll happen to me…surely. 😉

      1. In August, first you dread it, then you get excited. You have a couple weeks’ grace period while the students are still apprehensive and settling in, but once they do, it starts to get exhausting quickly. Then you can’t wait for June. Meanwhile, you get home on a Friday afternoon, then take a four-hour nap, and that’s how you end up reading Lily’s blog at 2 a.m. Hey, whatever gets me here, right? 🙂

          1. Basically– OK well I don’t want to publicly agree to that statement 😉 I am finally posting everyday, now I am trying to network again. This blogging business is a lot of freakin’ work!

  8. Congrats on going back to work! Skipping the interview is always a plus.

    I hate buying pants. My closet is full of everything from a size 6 to a size 12. How can that be? Also, I always have to buy a size larger to fit my thighs. Le sigh.

    1. Thanks! I’m so glad I could skip the interview thing. I get SOOO nervous. 😉
      Pants suck! I don’t know when everyone will finally get on board with the size numbering and get it RIGHT! A size 6 and 12 should not be the same! Shame on pant makers. I wish I could just make my own pants sometimes. 😉

  9. Congrats on your gainful employment!! Welcome back to the working world, just like the rest of us zombies.

    Naked might get you that permanent position. Just saying . . .

  10. I love that you’ve tagged this post as ‘inconsistent pant sizes’. I know what you mean, though. I have a pair of jeans that nicely tucks my love handles up like little sleeping animals, and another pair of jeans OF THE SAME SIZE from a different shop that squeezes them out so it looks like I’ve got two small babies clutching at my hips. Bad times. Good luck with the job 🙂

    1. Haha, I didn’t even think anyone ever looked at the tags. 🙂 Ugh, it’s so annoying how two pants of the same size are actually not the same size! We just want our love handles in, is that so much to ask? 😉
      Thank you!

  11. Yipee, glad you are back at work…the waking up early part sucks…and staying till a certain time….ugh lol. And yea just cos my bum is colossal doesn’t mean my thighs are ginormous…ok well in my case they are but still…lol. You have made me laugh my chops off today…thankfully I am alone at work

    1. Ugh, really suffering with the “staying til a certain time” part. Yawn, lol. Man, aren’t pants so annoying1 How rude to assume women are perfect and what not. Glad to have given you some laughs today, dear Boomie. 😆

Tell Me What You Think...

