My New Little Baby

I love animals. Some are cuter than others, but they all have personalities, just like we do. However, I never thought I’d fall in love with anything other than a common household pet, like a cat or dog. I was wrong. This past Saturday, a baby turkey was born. I got to see him just a short while after hatching, and we’ve been taking care of him ever since. I absolutely love my baby turkey. I know he’ll grow ugly eventually, but right now he is so adorable. It’s fun taking care of him and keeping him nice and warm. Sometimes I’ll cup my hands in front of him, and he’ll walk right in and get cozy. So cute. We’re trying to teach him how to eat by himself before we leave. He’ll pick at the food, but he doesn’t know how to make it stay in his mouth, so we have to do that part for him. I’ll keep trying though, and hopefully he’ll learn soon. The other day, he learned how to drink water all by himself, which made me so proud.

My little baby turkey also makes me laugh. A few days ago, he had pooped, and before I had a chance to clean it up, he took a bite out of it. If only you could have seen how he reacted. He spit it out and shook his head like he was disgusted with it. (Which yes, eating poop is disgusting.) I know he’s not a person, but I swear, the expression on his face was hilarious. Despite the constant pooping, I’ll be sad to leave him while he’s still so young. I just hope his mom keeps him warm as long as he needs her for, and that our neighbor (who owns the baby turkey and its parents) takes care of him too. I never thought I could get attached to a turkey. Sounds weird I guess, but it’s hard not to get attached to an animal that you got to take care of from day one. I might even cry for the little guy. Sadness. Anyway, that’s my update for the week. I uploaded two short videos of my baby. See below…toodles!

~Lily~


11 thoughts on “My New Little Baby

Tell Me What You Think...

