Couldn’t Wait Any Longer

Hello lovelies. I couldn’t stand another minute away from you, so here I am. I’m sure you wish I had given you more time to miss me, but that’s too bad. I’ve been in PR for 5 days now, but it feels like much longer. Time seems to move in slow motion. The first day was tough because we missed a whole night’s sleep. (Seriously, how do people do that?) Our flight was at midnight, and we had to get to the airport no later than 10pm, so obviously, there was no time to sleep. We landed at 4:30am (Puerto Rico’s an hour ahead) and by the time we got home, there was no point trying to sleep. The sun was starting to come out and the frickin’ roosters were doing what roosters do. And that’s why people eat them.

Come afternoon, we both felt dead tired. While we were trying to nap, my boyfriend’s mom told him to come outside…something about some cows. There was a bull and two small cows that came from IDK where and belonged to IDK who. They had come loose apparently. My boyfriend had to chase the big one and tie it somewhere. I was a litle worried for his safety, but mostly I was like ZZZZZZ. Then there was a horse wandering around somewhere. I’m pretty sure he wasn’t supposed to be there either. This shit doesn’t happen in Jersey. We ended up going to bed at 5pm because we were like zombies. Didn’t wake up until 7:30am the next day. Okay, so we tossed and turned a lot, especially when a dog started barking like he was  being tortured (loudly), and the roosters made a fuss (annoyingly). Plus, the bed really SUCKS, but all in all, we got to catch up on some much needed sleep.

I’m not 100% sure I’ll be able to hold out for a whole month. Puerto Rico’s lovely and all, and I love being with my family here, but life is so different. My boyfriend loves it here because he can be outside 24/7, hanging out with his family (who all live on this street) or working on his cars. He can’t sit still for more than 5 minutes inside the house. (No joke, he really CANNOT.) Me, I’m perfectly okay with being cooped up inside. But the roosters, oh dear God. What gives them the right to tell me when to wake up? Pretty much all the animals and insects irritate the shit out of me. It’s such an open space that everything sounds super loud. Sleep is precious because it’s so hard to get now.

Is this post sounding negative? My bad. So, I got internet, as you can tell since you’re reading this post. Problem is, I didn’t know how much data I should choose. I got 2GB for now but that’s probably WAY too little. It’s fine for my blog and checking e-mails, but I had forgotten that I was planning on watching some TV shows online. So far, I have no idea how to check my usage, but they said there were no overages, which is good. I’m excited to be able to read more blogs. Using my phone just wasn’t cutting it. I’ll sign off for now, and hopefully in my downtime, I’ll think of things to blog about. Without internet, I was feeling uninspired. Internet is like air. Don’t judge me. You know you feel the same way.

~Lily~

my-world-without-internet1

25 thoughts on “Couldn’t Wait Any Longer

  1. Internet IS like air! When I first moved to the place I am at now I thought I was going to have a meltdown 😦 I’m like a druggie trying to steal other people’s internet.

    You’ll get used to the roosters and insects – but you’ll be so happy when you’re back in your own bed. I think one of the best things about taking a holiday is going home! 😀

    1. I knew you’d understand! I wish I could steal internet but no one has any. It’s soooo anti-technology here. 😦

      Nope, I go to PR every year, still hate the damn roosters! Lol, but I agree…there’s nothing like being in your own bed. Can’t…wait! 😉

  2. Well, I’m glad you get to be online while you’re there. I’m just like you with the outside. I’m perfectly content to just sit in the house vegging out. And what the hell, roosters? I would be having chicken EVERY NIGHT for dinner. And I would do it outside as a warning to the other roosters. I do not like early morning wake up calls! Grrrrr.

    1. Me too, although this internet thing isn’t the most reliable…or this house is just evil and doesn’t allow me to connect all the time!
      Um, seriously, there are roosters everywhere, and they are SO LOUD!! I would love to make an example of one of them, like you said, lol. But really, sometimes they’re right outside the window. EVIL creatures.

    1. Thanks…it’s not that dependable, although it’s probably more the location than the actual device. Wasn’t working at all last night. 😦
      The roosters are really driving me bonkers! I don’t know how people can ever get USED to that.

  3. Poor you! I’m glad you checked in though…I’ve missed you. And as for roosters…kid you not, my neighbor has a hen house with a rooster in it…right here in suburban Florida. Totally tweaked me out when I was walking the dogs one morning and the thing was just going on and on. SOOOO glad they live on the next block. Hang in there, city girl, you can make it!

    1. Aw, thank you! Ugh, roosters are so NOT for city people like us, wtf! Everyone here says you get used to them but no matter how often I come to PR, they always piss me off! Jeez, in Suburban Florida, now that’s just gotta be illegal? Lol. 🙂

  4. Life without the internet? Hmmm. Oh yes. How did I manage to get through high school, graduate college and visit 6 continents before it was invented? I have no idea. 🙂

  5. Oh yes, we all know how internet feels. I can’t quite believe I cannot live without it now but I truly can’t. Roosters – yes, I know the feeling. On the farm I had, there was a very young rooster, who hadn’t quite learnt how to cockadoodledoo yet but tried, nonetheless, in the very early hours of the morning. It was a sort of fart/screech/doodle sound with which I was equally unhappy. 🙂
    Maybe, once you are over the jet lag, you’ll appreciate it all.

    1. Yup, I know we all lived without internet before but now that it exists, well…it’s pretty great, lol.
      Ahhh, a fart/screech/doodle sounds interesting! Haha. I don’t think I’ll ever appreciate the roosters. The rest is okay. 😉

  6. I feel you on this. Internet IS like air…. although for these past five days I was gone, it wasn’t too bad. Granted, we had a schedule so there was almost always something to do but still, internet is pretty vital. I’m sure PR will take some getting used to but I’m sure after a week or so you’ll start getting the hang of it (not sure about those roosters though haha). 😉

    1. Glad you had things to keep you busy. 😀 I’ve been slightly bored but at least I have internet access that works…sometimes, lol. It’s been a week and still hating those roosters! Some things never change. 😉

Tell Me What You Think...

