I Blinked, And Then It Was December

I know everyone says this every year, but really, where did the time go? Serious question. Where is it hiding? Why does it go by so quickly? How did it go from January to December in the blink of an eye? Perhaps we think there are 24 hours in a day, but in reality, we’re being robbed. I remember days that used to feel endless. I remember school feeling like it would never end, and wishing time would hurry up so that it would be Christmas. It was agony. What happened? Why, time…why? You shouldn’t short-change us. That’s so rude.

I can’t believe I’ll be in Puerto Rico later this week. I know I’m leaving, but I don’t feel like it’s real yet. I’m excited about seeing my grandparents and my cousin. I have way more family over there but we don’t really keep in touch so…whatever. I feel bad spending Christmas away from my parents two years in a row, though. I don’t want them to feel like I’m abandoning them. My boyfriend always want to spend Christmas in Puerto Rico. Christmas in Puerto Rico means  lots of parties, and he’s definitely a party person. I can’t blame him, especially considering that he moved here for me. Lord knows he wouldn’t be living in Jersey otherwise. Plus, who wants to freeze their butt off when they can enjoy 80-degree weather in December?

I’ll probably post one more time this week before leaving. Ahhh! Hopefully that post will be more interesting than this pointless one. I have some last-minute things to do before leaving. And I should really try to leave this apartment as clean as possible. Yeah, I really should. I should probably also make a list of things to pack. I have a beautiful new suitcase (thanks, Mom!) that I almost don’t want to use…because it’s beautiful. And airport people don’t give a rat’s ass about people’s suitcases. They THROW them, they drag them, they get them all dirty, and they don’t care. My poor suitcase. I almost want to travel with nothing, and just buy everything in Puerto Rico. But that would be silly, right? Or, hmm…

Quick side note. THANK YOU to Lily of Lily in Canada for nominating me for the Blog of the Year award. Also, THANK YOU to John of Every Useless Thing for nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blog award. I planned on doing a real awards post and nominating all you lovely people, but I ran out of time sooo…maybe next year. But thanks to you both! I think all my readers deserve to be nominated. It might take a little while, but I’ll get around to doing a real awards post. Anyway, hope you all have a lovely week.

~Lily~

37 thoughts on “I Blinked, And Then It Was December

  1. Oh boy. That right before the trip stressful rush of things to do. I know it well. Definitely make a list. And don’t forget to breath! You will get it all done, and if you don’t, you’ll survive. And maybe get a shopping spree in Puerto Rico! 😉

    1. Haha, yup! I’m not stressing much because I still feel like I have more time than I actually do! Uh oh. 😉 Yeah, if I “forget” to clean the apartment, oh well…it’s not life or death. Will definitely get some shopping done in PR, some clothes stores are quite cheap. 😀

  2. Well, crap. Your post is the first I’m learning that it’s actually December. Wasn’t Easter like last week? Excited for you and your upcoming adventure. Can’t wait to read all about it!

  3. Time is definitely a thief. When you’re a kid time goes by so slow. The days are like molasses, a slow drip. I’m sure you have lots to do before heading out to Puerto Rico. Maybe you’ll find the time to squeeze in a few more shopping trips. Hope you have a wonderful vacation 🙂

  4. I’m voting for pictures, too. It might be typical stuff to you, but not to us…your fans 😉 We don’t know nuthin ’bout no Puerto Rico. So educate us!

  5. I agree, where did the time go?? But that just means I’m closer to finishing up this app madness and going on vacation with my company! Okay, back to the grindstone. Have a good trip and update us whenever you get a chance! 🙂

  6. We’ve been hoodwinked! Bamboozled! Duped! Swindled! Cheated! I say, good ma’am, we must do something about this! My honor cannot withstand this kind of indignation!
    Or, you know, we could always just bemoan our troubles with time in English accents.

    Have fun in Puerto Rico! Send some warm weather towards Bend, Oregon! 🙂

  7. You’re so welcome I’m glad ur loving ur new suitcase. Go enjoy ur time in PR even though I’ll be sad I know u’ll have a fabulous vacation & ur grandparents will treasure the time u spend with them. I love u more than words can express please stay safe & we’ll be 2gether b4 we know it. God Bless!

Tell Me What You Think...

