Grab A Box Of Tissues…Or Not

I have bad news. You might want to grab a box of tissues. I’m leaving, and I’m never coming back. I will miss you all. You’re all such wonderful people. Okay, I really am leaving soon, but I’ll be back. I’m taking a longer than average vacation…a whole month! Part of me doesn’t want to leave for so long, but at the same time, when will I ever get the chance to go on vacation for a month? I feel like I should take advantage of my unemployment-ness. Plus, my boyfriend’s work is seasonal, so he could go away for 4 months if I let him if he wanted to.

Want to know where we’re going? We’re going to…the 19th century! Oh, sorry, I mean…Puerto Rico! The area where my boyfriend is from is SO country. You don’t even get cell phone reception inside his house. I have to walk several feet outside to get maybe one bar. And internet? Forget it. T-Mobile sucks even harder in Puerto Rico than it does over here. Basically, it’s like dial up on a phone. Last year, I didn’t mind so much, but now I have a blog. What the frick is a blogger supposed to do?

I was hoping to get a wireless card/USB modem that would give me internet access for my laptop. But Verizon wants to lock people in with a two year contract for that USB modem. Unfair. I’m going on vacation for a month, not two years. And if you want the monthly option, then the device itself will cost $250, PLUS $20/month for internet service. Ridiculous. I’ll have to check out T-Mobile, but if their cell phone service sucks, I doubt their wireless cards would be any better.

Anyway, this is just my warning to you guys. (I’ll still be around until the first week of December.) While I’m away, please don’t leave me if I don’t post for a while. I’ll be bringing my laptop, so while I’m in the cave at my boyfriend’s house, I can at least think of stuff to write. Also, my cousin has cable, so I can check in when I visit her, and maybe occasionally get a post in. Maybe. The internet goes out all the time when there’s bad weather, so ugh. That’s all I have to say. Oh, and I love you.

~Lily~

37 thoughts on “Grab A Box Of Tissues…Or Not

  1. Awww…I a, definitely going to miss you. Nevertheless, enjoy yourself…take loads of pictures, and bring stories back for us all to read.

    Hopefully you can find Internet access somehow…hugs Lily!

    1. Aw, thanks Boomie! I hope someone over there can help me figure out the whole internet thing! I just realized my post makes it seem like I’m leaving NOW… I’ll still be around another week and a half-ish. I just didn’t want to wait til the last day to tell everyone. I can be forgetful. Hugs!

  2. I’m currently living in Puerto Rico. Verizon service sucks, but ATT works well. You might check them out. It also depends on what part of the island you’ll be staying. Enjoy your month long vacation!

  3. Awww, I hope you have a wonderful vacation though 🙂 Also I really like your new theme :). Sorry I haven’t been able to check out your blog for so long! I really don’t like using school as an excuse, but unfortunately it’s the truth though. Well four more days and I’ll be done with my last class of my undergraduate career.

    1. Thanks and thanks! No worries, I know you’re busy with school. I appreciate you stopping by today. 😀 I’m not leaving just yet but thanks. I just hope I get this internet thing figured out. As for you, school’s almost over so GOOD LUCK! 🙂

    1. Life without internet would be so empty. I know people lived in those times but wow…no blogs? SCARY.
      Uh, yeah, I’ve got tons of posts pre-written. I’m totally organized. I even pre-wrote my responses to the comments. 😀

  4. Holy moly, what am I gonna do without you around for a whole month?? I can’t count on you then to always be there for me even in my most lame and boring posts!
    Kidding, obviously. Definitely take advantage of this time now to go on vacation! I’m sure after you go through internet and cell phone withdrawal, you’ll realize that life indeed does go on. Just you know, for a little while at least until the withdrawal hits you again. Not that I’m trying to scare you or anything.

    1. Haha, aw, I’m sorry! I don’t know what I was thinking when I agreed to go for so long. But with any luck, I’ll have internet and can post regularly. I can live without internet but I can’t abandon my blog! I can’t go that long without writing and reading…ahhh, I’ll just die! 😉

  5. Wow! I dream of leaving my dreary existence for an exotic locale for an entire month!! That sounds divine. Hope you have a really fabulous time. We will just be sitting here . . . waiting . . . with thumbs a twirling . . . patiently anticipating your return. 🙂

  6. Aww love this post and yeah check out claro’s wireless cards for 19.99 I saw an advertisement for them. See ya tomorrow God willing bitter sweet but I’m ready to go home.
    Love you!

Tell Me What You Think...

