The Little Things Are The Best Things

I had all day yesterday to think of what to write today. I’m not working, and I wasn’t busy cleaning, so what the fudge is my excuse? My excuse is that it’s all your fault. Yup, that’s the mature thing to do, blame others. IΒ should have all the time in the world to write, but I don’t because there are so many posts to read! That’s not a bad thing. What I’m saying is that you’re all wonderful and I can’t resist your charm posts. Basically, I’m professing my love to you. Um, yeah, moving on…

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day here in the U.S. I’ve never been a huge fan of this holiday. Don’t take that the wrong way. Most people get excited because they can stuff their face as much as they want to. Well, I stuff my face every day. You should see how much food my boyfriend and I can put on a plate. I do enjoy spending time with my family, and I like what Thanksgiving Day represents. See, I’m not a horrible person. But tomorrow isn’t the only day we should remember to be thankful. There is something to be thankful for every day. Just the simple fact that you’re alive is enough. I am far from perfect, but I try to appreciate everything I have and not take things or people for granted. I know that in the blink of an eye, everything I have can be gone.Β 

I am grateful for my family, for my boyfriend, for my practically nonexistent small group of friends, for my health, for having a roof over my head, and for the money to pay for that overpriced roof. Would I like to have an endless supply of money and riches? Sure. But would I be willing to trade the people I love for those material things? Never. Money can buy a lot of things, but if you don’t have people who love and support you, money could never fill that void.

I hope everyone enjoys their holiday weekend. I hope those less fortunate than us find a warm plate of food and a warm place to stay. My thoughts and prayers go out to them. And if you don’t celebrate this holiday, then that sucks for you! Just kidding. (Sorry, it’s hard to be serious for this long.) But whether you celebrate it or not, don’t forget to take a second to appreciate the little things in life. It’s easy to forget, what with all the negative things happening around us, but there’s still a lot of good left. The little things in life are the best things.

~Lily~

23 thoughts on “The Little Things Are The Best Things

  1. This is beautiful Lily! Happy thanksgiving… I am usually excited about thanksgiving. The girls are at a age they are starting to get it so I hope they have fun tomorrow. Hope everyone does whether they celebrate or not.

    I am thankful for you my dear :). This is a great post

  2. I’ve always loved Thanksgiving for the other stuff… The pick up football game in the yard, spending quality time talking and laughing with friends and family, watching my Cowboys play…. The food was just icing on the cake. πŸ™‚ and when you said you loved us…you were talking about me in particular, right?

  3. We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here but I’m sure the Turkeys are mighty thankful for that! I’m with you on your thoughts though. I am grateful everyday and mostly it is due to the people around me, not possessions. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  4. Good point! Have a great holiday!!!!

    —- Totally off topic, suicidal bugs… that friend I showed your post quoted it all though lunch. It had everyone in the breakroom dying (not literally as the bugs are the only ones dying); she kept telling them β€œOh man you should read it.” So you have one more thing to be thankful for!

    1. Glad you liked it! Same here, it’s important not to take even the little things for granted. And oh man, even just seeing the words “mashed potatoes” makes me go crazy…LOVE potatoes. Could eat them every day. πŸ˜€

  5. Uh… Tori basically said everything I wanted to say so I will just add, DITTO. Also, I lol-ed when you said you couldn’t be serious for that long because I totally understand that feeling if I’m writing something less upbeat. Guess we’re just that dorky, eh? πŸ˜‰

Tell Me What You Think...

