For The Little Things

She looks at him, smiling,
In awe that he is here at all,
That she is his and he is hers.

Every time he walks through that door,
He smiles and her heart soars;
She’s been blessed another day.

The simplicity is beautiful,
Overwhelming and magical;
Thank God for small miracles.

Some days, she still can’t believe
That she is his and he is hers,
The way it was meant to be.

And she never forgets
To feel grateful to life
For the little things.

© Lillian Figueroa – 11/12/2012

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
Dedicated to the love of my life, my one and only.
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

photo credit: somewhere on the internet

Side Note: I’ve edited this poem a million times. I added new lines, removed old ones, rinse and repeat. I don’t think I’ve ever had a poem go through so many changes. I just hope the end result isn’t too horrible. This is only the second poem I’ve written this year, after having had writer’s block for several years. And…I don’t know if there’s a point to this side note, other than to make excuses. So yeah, mission accomplished.

23 thoughts on “For The Little Things

  1. Hey, who said simplicity was easy right? 😉 I feel your pain in the editing process but the end result is definitely worth it! I’m experiencing somewhat of a poetry block myself…. sigh.

    1. Thanks! I never really believed in editing, which is stupid, I guess. But this time each time I read it, I wanted something different. And aww, your block will end. I had my block for years and didn’t think it’d ever go away. 😀

Tell Me What You Think...

