When You’re No Longer With Me

All the time I’ve spent
Memorizing your smile,
The look in your eyes,
Your kisses on my cheek…
It hasn’t been in vain;
They’ll be my favorite memories
When you’re no longer with me.

I guess I always knew
You’d come into my life,
Only to leave me one day
With a cruel goodbye.

That’s the way it goes,
I am one among millions.
You are one among a few,
And you’ll never be forgotten.

I fear that in time
You will come to forget
My voice, my name,
My eyes and my smile.
And everything will be
As if I never existed.

If I shed a tear, would it go unnoticed?
Would you even care to ease my sorrow?
And if I say goodbye today,
Will you remember me tomorrow?

© Lillian F

photo credit: not mine
30 thoughts on “When You’re No Longer With Me

  1. 😦 That is really sad; it captures typical feelings of a break up though.

    This was really well written. Did you write it a while ago? Was it about something or just remembering something else?

    1. Thank you. Technically, I wrote this a while ago in spanish. I semi-translated it today…changed things around, removed a couple lines. So it feels new to me now. But originally, it was written towards a friend, and then I changed it so it’d be more of a break-up thing. 😉

      1. AWWWWWWW a friend? Are you no longer friends? That sucks. Its really good though, you should get a spanish – english poetry book published 🙂 It would sell like hot cakes.

        1. Yup, no longer friends but it’s okay. He didn’t deserve a poem anyway. 😉 Thanks again! I used to want to be published, but no one reads poetry anymore. 😦 At least I can share them here, thank God for blogs. 🙂

  2. Lovely! It’s a shame that poetry rarely gets published anymore. In my opinion, it’s the world’s loss. There is a beauty and lyricism to the art form that makes it so captivating when done properly.

      1. Oh, I think there are plenty of people who appreciate it, but now, with the internet, etc…there’s not much call anymore for publishing books of poetry. Unfortunately. I think the last really well known poet I can think of is Maya Angelou. Sad.

  3. Luckily I scrolled through the comments first before going all, omg what happened??!

    I like poetry in this style– simple, straightforward, and honest. Definitely not as difficult to decipher as, say Shakespeare, but also conveys beautiful lyricism in its own special way. 🙂

    1. Lol, aww, I’m glad you scrolled through the comments then. I keep forgetting I need disclaimers for you. Kidding! 😀 It’s an old poem, as most are. 😦

      Glad you liked it. You won’t find any Shakespeare here. 😉 It’s another one of those that I translated, although this time I changed things here and there. Sometimes I just say, screw the original. 🙂

  4. ¡Muy bonita! Simple but lovely verse that expresses feelings I imagine we all process at one time or another in our lives. I know I (even as a guy) have. Please post more poems 🙂 I think it would be great if you posted them in both Spanish and English, side by side in two columns. But that’s just me 🙂

    1. Gracias! I’m glad you like reading them. This was the first time I translated a poem and didn’t include the original with it. I feel like no one reads the spanish one. Now I’m kind of mad that I didn’t post both! Oh well. I’m hoping I can start sharing more recent poems, now that I’m (dare I say it) slowly getting back into writing. 😀

Tell Me What You Think...

