Second Attempt At Being A Grown-Up

I did it again! I cooked something that I’ve never made before. This time I made chicken instead of pork, and I’ve got to say…I enjoyed the pork more. Pork doesn’t have this nasty skin for you to rip off like the sneaky little drumsticks do. And yes, I know they sell skinless chicken but you can’t always find that. Stupid son-of-a-grocery-store. My boyfriend can yank off the skin in a matter of seconds. It took me about a half hour to do 8 drumsticks. RIDICULOUS. As you probably know, there’s another skin-like layer underneath the skin, which is kind of clear and stretchy. I was like, WTF, am I supposed to take this off too? So I made an attempt, a damn pathetic attempt. Oh I see, you want to play stupid. Okay. *Yanks harder* Alright, so you’re a stubborn piece of shit. *Takes a pair of meat scissors* Great, now you look deformed. WTF. At one point, I seriously considered throwing the drumsticks in the trash and just forgetting the whole thing. Then I googled it and realized that you’re not supposed to do anything with that layer as “it’s very hard to remove.” No shit. So I moved on.

Once I got past that, I had to cut two lines into each drumstick so that they would cook well and get the flavor inside. Seems easy enough, but I still doubted myself. How deep am I supposed to cut this? Does it matter which side I choose? Am I reading too much into this? Yes, loser. All in all, it wasn’t too bad. Seasoning the meat was definitely my favorite part. I seriously think seasoning meat is like art, like coloring. That was the only time during the process that I felt pretty confident. Once I started cooking, I lost some of that confidence. I was sure that after all that, it would come out awful. But guess what? It wasn’t awful at all! The meat was well-cooked, tender, and quite delicious! Although I was feeling less than enthused in the beginning, I’m glad I didn’t give up. Now I can make pork chops and chicken. This week, I also baked homemade banana cake/bread/something; another first for me. I’m on a roll! I just hope I can keep it up. I want cooking to be fun rather than feel like a chore. Right, we’ll see how that goes. Hope you all have a great weekend!

~Lily~

I did it…yay!
23 thoughts on “Second Attempt At Being A Grown-Up

  1. You have to forget the skin and yuk in order to enjoy your own cooking……..guess that’s why everyone else’s stuff tastes so much better and/or why we like to eat out so much. Preparation can certainly be a buzz-kill. Chicken looks great

  2. I really enjoyed reading your post 🙂 You’re so funny, it’s really what we think and what’s in our heads but nobody writes about it. So, I appreciate you actually do that! Keep writing! 😀

  3. When you figure out how to be a grown up be sure to let me know – I’m thinking I’m going to bet stuck in Neverland forever!

  4. I am mentally savoring this and it’s just making me hungrier! Mmm, food.
    I don’t do a ton of cooking, but I always enjoy it when I do. I’m very good at making pasta. I did make a “sauce” once and have no idea what I did, but it turned out well.

    1. Gotta love food! Sorry to make you hungry though. 😉 Pasta’s good so that’s good you can make that! That used to be the only thing I could cook. It took forever but I finally started learning other things. It’s fun though, for the most part. 🙂

  5. First off… thanks for nearly getting me in trouble, laughing my ass off at work (note to self, might be a good idea not to read your blog while I am on the clock). Technically I just answer phones so I can pretty much do whatever I want, but laughing my ass off with clients on the phone might not be a good idea.
    Use paper towels to pull the fat off the chicken, it gives you dry traction you will be quicker than your boyfriend in no time. I actually would just pull the fat off chicken as a job if someone wanted to give it to me; then again I have been doing it since I was about eight.
    Cooking can be fun, just keep cooking shit you are sure will come out wrong. When it comes out right you will feel that much more rewarded! Have fun!

    1. Aw, thanks, glad this gave you a laugh! Sorry it was at work though. I used to read blogs at work too, so I know the feeling. 😀 I will try paper towels next time! Afterwards, my boyfriend was trying to tell me how to do it, but what he doesn’t understand is he’s got a much stronger grip than I do, duh! I’ll keep trying new things and hopefully it’ll keep going well. Right now, I only do it when my boyfriend isn’t around to watch and judge. 😀 Thanks!

      1. HAHAHHA yeah that would make it much more difficult. My boyfriend went to culinary school, which makes it that much more annoying. Yes I know you know how to do this… but I don’t, so help or be silent (he likes to do stuff for me and I don’t work well with that).

  6. Thank goodness you turned out NOT to be a one-hit wonder in the cooking department! It’s such a morale booster when you cook something that turns out good, isn’t it? 😀 I completely agree with you about chicken skin which is why I either go for skinless or just go vegetarian for that meal. Usually the latter, since meat is a bit expensive these days. God, I sound like some domestic housewife. “I can’t believe garlic just went up 10 cents a pop!”

    Fun, yummy stuff. Good thing I ate breakfast already.

    1. Definitely a morale booster! 😀 If it had come out tasting ICKY, I’d probably never cook again. Ugh, meat is so overpriced. I can see why you opt for veggies occasionally, but those are expensive too sometimes. Gosh darn overpriced groceries!

      Thank you!

Tell Me What You Think...

