There’s A First Time For Everything

Can you believe that I’ve lived in New Jersey all my life, yet I had never been to New York City? 50 long years and nothing! Oh wait, I’m only 24. Well, it feels like 50 long years. My boyfriend had mentioned that he wanted to go, but I refused for one reason…I don’t speak train. I had never taken the train or the subway before, and I didn’t think it’d be wise for us to go alone. Then last weekend, my friend invited us to go to the city with her and her boyfriend, so we said yes. I would finally lose my train virginity!

They helped us with the ticket machine because I just stood there like an idiot. I’m good with technology, but those things are not user friendly. The train itself was actually quite nice and pretty comfortable. I kind of wish I could have stayed on the train all day, as that was the most comfortable I was gonna feel. The city was just like I pictured it would be, smelly and really crowded. Every step we took, my nose got assaulted by a new smell. My boyfriend usually walks pretty slowly, so the whole time, I kept looking back to make sure we didn’t lose him. We walked and we walked and we walked some more. My feet didn’t break so I guess it’s all good.

Taking the subway was exhausting, but necessary so I could lose my subway virginity. There were so many stairs and my poor little feet were very angry with me. Not to mention, it was very hot and smelly down there. The first subway we took was crowded, so I clung to the germ-infested pole for dear life. My friend was shocked that I was able to keep my balance during that bumpy ride. I almost fell on the second ride but ALMOST doesn’t count, so HA! We had dinner, which was fun, and then we took another subway straight to the train station. That one was nicer and we were actually able to sit down. No disgusting pole to hang on to. THANK GOODNESS.

I’m glad I can finally say that I’ve been to the city. I know there’s much more to see, especially at night with all the lights, but I’m in no rush to go back. I really don’t know how people can live and work there. Maybe some people actually like huge crowds and endless traffic, but I definitely don’t have the patience for that. Plus, I’d be scared for my life just crossing the street every day. It’s a dangerous world! I’m glad we didn’t witness any major accidents. We did see a minor crash between two stupid taxi cabs and we also saw someone who had passed out on the street. Both typical things you’d expect to see in New York. Good times!

~Lily~

On the subway. Do I look scared?
Getting our drink on, err, I mean, having dinner.
41 thoughts on “There’s A First Time For Everything

  1. “No disgusting pole to hang on to.” So you sank comfortably into your seat that satistically has been urinated on about once a month. But thats just an average. You seat might have only been once every two or three months.

  2. Lol at losing your train virginity…not a bad experience from the look of things. New York sure sounds like a mad house…I grew up in it’s Nigetian equivalent Lagos…

    Someone passing out on the street…scary! Hopefully he or she is alright! Glad you made it back in one piece.

    You are one beautiful woman :)!

    1. Yup, it wasn’t too bad, it’s just not my cup of tea. I’ve never had much patience for crowds. The guy who passed out looked rich, he was in a limo and stuff, so I’m sure he’s fine, lol.

      And aww, thank you Boomie. 😳 I need to work on smiling though. πŸ˜€

  3. I don’t mind big cities. I absolutely love Chicago! Dallas is a blast. I think the only reason I might want to go to NewYork, though, is to feed my need to see a Broadway Musical. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh did you see that video of the kid licking the subway rails….ewwww I ca’t believe you have never been to NYC. I haven’t either but that is because I live in Texas. πŸ˜‰

  5. Yeah Lily, you are an official Subway rider now πŸ™‚
    So how did you like the city? I’ve been but it was many moons ago..I like it!!

    1. Yeah, that’s right! πŸ˜‰ The city’s okay. I’m sure there are cool things to see…the only thing I saw was the Empire State Building and man is it big! But I definitely couldn’t go every weekend like some people do, way too smelly and crowded. πŸ˜‰

  6. I went to New York City for my 8th grade class trip, and I was so scared to go on the Subway. What if I missed the stop we were supposed to get off at? And just like you, I clung to some grimy, most likely germ infested pole for dear life wondering if I was going to get separated from my group and DIE ALONE in New York.
    I totally agree about living in New York, though. It’s pretty and all, but I don’t think I’d want to live there. Too many people and too many dangerous happenings! Like crossing the street! (I run for my life across crosswalks all the time. You never know when there’s a moron driving.)

    1. I seriously don’t know how people know when to get off the subway! And there’s so little time, I was worried the doors would squish me! It was scary and definitely germ-infested. Glad you made it through too. πŸ˜‰

      And really, it’s pretty at night but in the day time, it’s just another dirty city. I couldn’t cross the street like that every day, that’s a sure death. I see the way people drive…they’re either morons or just plain aggressive. Not the best place to live at all!

      1. The only reason I knew to get off when I did was because of the tour guides.
        It really would be. But some people can do it (actually, a lot, it would seem), so they can have it, I’ll keep to my country bumpkin ways!

  7. Yay, you finally lugged your NJ booty over to NYC! And was less than impressed, I take it. πŸ˜‰ Still, you can officially say you’ve been to NYC AND have ridden on both train and subway. That’s a big feat in and of itself. I love the first picture… you look like you’re trying really hard to squeeze out just a hint of a smile. πŸ™‚

    1. I sure did! πŸ˜€ I would have been more impressed at night, probably. But in the day time it just looks like…a crowded city. But I don’t care, at least I can say, been there, done that. And in the picture, I really thought I was smiling! That’s a big problem for me. I feel like I’m smiling for the camera but then it turns out I’m not. Must work on that. πŸ˜€

  8. I lost my tram virginity last year when I went for a ride on the trams in Melbourne. The first thing I did was to fall on some guy when it took off, but after that I found my feet. My daughter now calles me a tramsvestite πŸ˜€

  9. So I live in Oregon and I’ve been to New York more than you? That doesn’t seem right, somehow…

    And, uh, no offense to the commenter above, but – seriously – there’s no hurry to visit L.A. San Francisco, on the other hand, is one of the greatest cities on Earth.

    1. That is a little odd. Maybe NY is more alluring the further away you live from there. πŸ˜‰

      I’ll take your word on San Fran. πŸ˜‰ If it took me this long to get from NJ to NY, it’ll probably be at least…50 years before I make it to California. I’ll put that on my bucket list.

  10. You look a bit stressed. I wish you would have said “Goodbye you have meant so much to me…” That would have made this story the ultimate. Congrats on getting out there after these long 50 (24) years. πŸ™‚

  11. LOL.. you sound like me. the first time I ever rode the subway (metro here) was when I moved here to VA.. OMG.. I’ve been here 3 1/2 years and I think I’m finally at the point where I could go by myself.. but only to the places I’ve been too.. any further and umm.. no.. I wanna go to NYC and there’s a train from here to there.. but I’m terrified I will get lost and never find the train home..lol

    1. Glad I’m not alone! I don’t know how people do it! The train was easier but the subway/metro, not so much! I kept looking at my friends, making sure they knew where to get off cuz I obviously had no clue! But with NY, it’s kind of easy to memorize the streets since they’re pretty much all numbers, so that might help you get back to where you need to be…if you ever go. πŸ˜‰

  12. I am glad you made it to NYC! I lived in Jersey for most of my teenage years (during the late 80s – it was totally rad – just kidding) and we would take the train to the city frequently. Glad you made it through your virgin voyage to the Big Apple! πŸ™‚

  13. Yeah, I rarely visit ATL and wouldn’t even think about living there. I couldn’t even imagine what it would be like living in NYC. I tried living in an apartment once and it didn’t end well. I think I’ll stick with the suburbs.

Tell Me What You Think...

