With Your Name On My Lips (Con Tu Nombre En La Boca)

Today, I thought I’d share a poem that I originally wrote in Spanish. I don’t often translate poetry, but this one translated pretty well into English. (El poema original está incluído abajo.)

~*~*~

With Your Name On My Lips

With swollen eyes
and one lonely tear
caressing my cheek.
Empty-handed,
each finger, trembling,
longing to touch you.
With a shaky voice
and broken dreams,
I keep searching for you.
With a broken heart
and a distrustful soul,
I remain hopeful.
With little life
and a need to love you,
my feelings overwhelm me.
I’ve always loved you,
my body screams this truth
while it awaits you.
With your name on my tongue
and a kiss that never
left your lips.*

© Lillian F

*The last three lines (which were originally written in spanish) are from a poem by Pablo Neruda; his piece inspired my poem.

~*~*~

Con Tu Nombre En La Boca

Con los ojos hinchados
y una lágrima extraña
rozando mi mejilla.
Con las manos vacías,
cada dedo, trémulo,
añorando los tuyos.
Con la voz quebrada
y los sueños deshechos,
te sigo buscando.
Con el corazón partido
y el alma desconfiada,
mantengo la esperanza.
Con poca vida
y necesidad de amarte,
se deslizan mis sentires.
Siempre te he amado,
te lo grita mi cuerpo,
mientras te espera.
Con tu nombre en la boca
y un beso que jamás
se apartó de la tuya.*

© Lillian F

*Mi inspiración: “…Mi mano escribe esta carta en el camino,
y en medio de la vida estaré siempre
junto al amigo, frente al enemigo,
con tu nombre en la boca
y un beso que jamás
se apartó de la tuya.” — Pablo Neruda

17 thoughts on “With Your Name On My Lips (Con Tu Nombre En La Boca)

    1. Makes sense to me. 🙂 I do like the spanish one better. The last three lines are from a Pablo Neruda spanish poem…they inspired me to write the original piece. I realize I credited him under the spanish one but not the english one, oops. 😦 Thanks Boomie. 🙂

Tell Me What You Think...

