Rain, Weirdos, And Something Long Overdue

It’s Tuesday and I never know how to start my posts, so there’s my opening line for you. I know, I’m so lame cool. I had my car washed yesterday, even though I knew it was supposed to rain today. But even when the forecast doesn’t call for rain, if you wash your car, IT WILL RAIN. I figured I might as well do it, and then I couldn’t be disappointed or shocked when it inevitably rained the next day. Genius. Except, I am kind of disappointed. Rain may be necessary but it’s so damn depressing.

There’s a man in our apartment complex who does strange things. Nothing dirty, if that’s what you’re thinking. He has a black pickup truck that he is obsessed with. He treasures that car like a person would treasure a much nicer car. The truck is a few years old, and the paint is messed up in certain places, but this man treats the truck like it’s his baby. I know, I know, who am I to judge? Notice the picture below with the wipers up. He puts the wipers up EVERY SINGLE DAY of the year. Most people do this when they’re expecting snow. He also keeps a snow brush in the front seat. Maybe he knows something we don’t. Maybe the end is near.

Wipers up, seat leaning forward, and snow brush ready. WTF.

You should see him when he’s getting ready to leave. Most people just start the car and drive away. Not this guy; he’s got a ritual. He always has a rag and a bottle of water with him. He’ll walk around the truck 10 times, wiping off some imaginary substance. He stares at the truck, then he stares into outerspace, and then he stares at the truck again. He’s completely oblivious to the fact that my boyfriend and I are watching and laughing.

He’ll walk around the truck a few more times before coming to the conclusion that all is well. Finally, he opens the door, moves the seat back (the seat is always leaning against the steering wheel), and then he puts the snow brush in the back. He must be shocked and amazed that he hasn’t had to use the snow brush yet this SUMMER. He hesitantly lowers the wipers, and then finally hops in. It takes another minute or two before he slowly pulls out of the parking lot and drives away. If only you could see him yourself; it’s much funnier in person.

This post makes no sense, so I might as well continue being random. I wanted to take a moment and thank a few people who have recently nominated me for a couple awards. In my last semi-awards post, I mentioned that I’m starting to feel like the award rules resemble chain letters, BUT that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate being nominated. I am very grateful to everyone who takes time out of their day to read my crazy ramblings.

Thank you to Sophie Milan of young, wild & writing for nominating me for the Super Sweet Blogging award. Thank you to Rebecca of Lady or Not…Here I Come and Asha Seth of Asha’s Blog for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog award. And thank you to Nick of Talkin’ Shit, who received a ton of awards and is sharing all of them with his nominees. I appreciate the thought everyone, and many thanks for reading! Please check out their blogs too. Although I’m not exactly participating, that doesn’t mean I don’t think you’re all worthy, because you are.

And now, sadly, my day has been ruined. My boyfriend is already home from work due to the rain. There goes my peaceful alone time. Look at what I’m posting, absolute nonsense. *Shakes head in disappointment* See, no good can come when it rains.

~Lily~

25 thoughts on “Rain, Weirdos, And Something Long Overdue

  1. When I first moved in with my husband he had one of his friends as a roommate. Same thing, his truck, which was nothing special, was his baby. He didn’t know how to wash a dish and I am not even sure how often he even cleaned his own clothes….but his truck, immaculate! Hope the sun comes out for you soon!

      1. LOL the evil part of me wants to challenge you do do something minor to it everyday and post about it. Like tomorrow put finger prints on his mirror. On Thursday take a piece of chalk and mark his tires. (just one tiny line on the front drivers side not the tread) Stuff like that to screw with him.

  2. Agree on the OCD, that guy sounds like he has some serious issues. And you’re so right about washing cars and rain. Even if it doesn’t rain right away, it’ll still rain and get your car dirty. Murphy’s Law, I swear.

    1. Yup, he’s an oddball. πŸ˜€ Must be Murphy’s Law! My boyfriend actually said that if it rained hard enough, he would have GONE outside to wash his car. “Free car wash.” Wtf, people don’t do that! πŸ˜‰

  3. The one good thing about rain is that it usually involves lots of couch time, movies, pajamas and hot chocolate. I love an excuse to be lazy!

  4. It rains when I wash the clothes and hang them on the line and it rains when I wash the car – so I refuse to do both now πŸ˜€

    I agree with the OCD comment – the dude with the truck has got it bad!

  5. I can kind of relate with the weirdo about his truck. Even though I don’t have the emotional attachment to my S-10 like I do with my MX-5, I still check the fluids daily and do a quick walk-around. The brush is a little over the top though. Of course, here in Atlanta, if it snows, you don’t go out. Nothing will be open anyways.

Tell Me What You Think...

