Celebrity, Smellebrity

I’ve always wondered why some people become so obsessed with celebrities. Okay, so there was one short time in my life when I was obsessed with Justin Timberlake. He was cute and he could sing. And I was a teenager. However, I still hear people ask about celebrity crushes, or more specifically, “If you could cheat on your boyfriend with a celebrity, who would it be?” And they look at me like I have three heads when I say, “No one.” That’s right, you heard me.

Here’s the thing…why should I idolize someone just because they get paid an insane amount of money to do something they love? So…un…fair. Now, I know being a singer or actor can be stressful and very time-consuming. But hey, that’s what they enjoy doing. However, some people have no real talent, and get paid an enormous salary anyway. Um, J-Lo…there is nothing special about her singing voice. (Or her speaking in spanish voice.) And her acting? Let’s think through all her movies…wasn’t Selena the only one she got real recognition for? All her other movies were nothing to write home about.

What about Kristen Stewart? Highest paid actress this year…she CAN’T act! It amazes me how many actors there are who are so popular and highly paid, yet they’re stiff or emotionless on-screen. YEAH…I’m so glad millions of dollars are going to such great use. Anyway, because I don’t want to be hated, I will admit there are some great singers, actors, and other celebrities out there, some of which are very generous with their money. Go them! Still, I don’t really understand the allure of celebrities. I can’t imagine fainting if I ran into Zac Efron or Brad Pitt, or never wanting to wash my hands after touching someone who once touched Elvis’ shoe.

So, I’ve discovered a truth about celebrities that none of their fans know. I’m here to share that secret with the world. Ready? *Deep breath* Celebrities…are actually human beings! I know! It’s amazing and totally unreal! No matter how gorgeous they may be, they get bad morning breath just like the rest of us humans. And all the money in the world can’t change the fact that they still have to wipe their own butt! Sorry for the nasty image. That’s the truth and I just couldn’t hold it in any longer.

~Lily~

8 thoughts on “Celebrity, Smellebrity

  1. I think it’s a problem to only see a person when they’re all made up and/or photoshopped heavily. It tends to dehumanize them. It’s almost good to see those hideous tabloid photos of celebrities caught without makeup, just living their lives. They’re just normal people, not gods and goddesses.

    1. I couldn’t agree more. That brings me to another thing, models as celebrities. REALLY? Photoshopped in magazines wearing insane outfits normal people would never wear? *Shakes head* What a waste!

Tell Me What You Think...

