The Hunt

“The closest to perfection a person ever comes is when he fills out a job application form.”  ~ Stanley J. Randall

So, today I finally decided I should stop being lazy and look for a new job. Currently, I am still employed but will be laid off at the end of the month. It’s just so hard to get excited about job searching because so many listings either sound boring or unrealistic and unfair. Everyone demands so many years of college or so many years of work experience in a certain field. Why are so few people willing to hire “inexperienced” people and train them? If every company in the world demanded YEARS of experience, everyone would be jobless, because you aren’t born with experience…people need to hire you so you can gain it!

I like working hard, proving myself, and keeping busy. But part of my issue is I’m not really a people person. Call me a loner. I LOVE my current co-workers in my department; I’m glad I met them and sad to be leaving. But starting a new job is like being the new student at school. It’s just so awkward and embarrassing. I’m not very outgoing at all, and it’s very hard for me to start conversations, or keep them going. I consider myself funny, but I definitely don’t have the same kind of sense of humor that seems to be most popular. Whenever my current job has big meetings or summer/holiday parties, I find myself not really wanting to go. I feel so out of place in large groups.

It seems like most jobs today involve customer service in some way. Most job postings want outgoing people who aren’t afraid to interact and participate in discussions and projects. Not ideal for shy people like me. I remember when I first started this job, I was afraid to even answer the phone, let alone make an outgoing phone call. I’ve got that down now, at least. I just hope I meet some great people at my next job, because having amazing co-workers definitely makes a difference, but I know that’s only part of the problem. What’s out there for introverted/quiet people like me? What do I want to do? Or what CAN I do…? It would be so nice if I could just skip the “being new” phase and settle into my next job, whatever that may be.

This job hunting thing…so exciting.

~Lily~

“A lot of fellows nowadays have a B.A., M.D., or Ph.D. Unfortunately, they don’t have a J.O.B.” ~ Fats Domino

2 thoughts on “The Hunt

Tell Me What You Think...

